Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Es kann sein, dass nicht alle Funktionen dieser Websites angezeigt werden. Wir empfehlen, einen dieser Browser oder Versionen zu verwenden Mozila Firefox oder Google Chrome

Connect
To Top

Zu Hause angekommen

Von: Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Nachdem er in seiner Karriere in der ganzen Welt herumgekommen war, hat sich Chefkoch Jonathan Gushue auf einer entlegenen Insel in der Nähe seines Geburtsorts niedergelassen. Von dieser Reise will er uns erzählen.

Schon als kleiner Junge in St. John’s auf der kanadischen Insel Neufundland hat Jonathan Gushue das Reisefieber gepackt. Eine Europareise mit seinem Vater in jungen Jahren weckte in ihm Träume von fernen Ländern. Bereits mit 13 Jahren verließ er sein Zuhause, um in Toronto und später im Staat New York aufs Internat zu gehen. Seine ersten Erfahrungen in der Gastronomie machte der mittlerweile renommierteste kanadische Koch während der Highschool-Zeit als Tellerwäscher in einem Hotel. Seitdem hat ihn sein Beruf um die ganze Welt geführt: zunächst nach Nordontario, später nach Japan und Großbritannien, bis er schließlich Anfang der 2000er Jahre nach Nordamerika zurückkehrte.

„Zu Hause hieß es immer, ich müsse Neufundland später unbedingt verlassen“, erinnert er sich. „Hier gab es nicht sehr viele Aussichten.“

Jonathan Gushue / Image: Fogo Island Inn

Nachdem er im Leben wie in einer modernen Odyssee so manches durchgestanden hatte, fand der 48-jährige Koch in seiner Heimatprovinz – ganz in der Nähe seines Geburtsorts St. John’s und doch gefühlt Lichtjahre entfernt – ein neues Zuhause. Hier arbeitet er nun als Chefkoch im glanzvollen Fogo Island Inn, einem Lokal auf einer abgelegenen Insel vor der Nordostküste Neufundlands. Dieses abgeschiedene, windumtoste kanadische Eiland hat gerade einmal 2.300 Einwohner und 11 Gemeinden mit poetisch-klangvollen Namen wie Little Seldom, Tilting und Joe Batt’s Arm. Vor der felsigen Küste treiben Eisberge, am Straßenrand kauern Karibus eng beieinander.

Eiserne Arbeitsmoral

Mit seinem silbergrauen Haar und den kühl-blauen Augen hinter einer schwarz gerahmten Brille könnte der strahlend frisch aussehende Gushue auch einen Arzt in einer TV-Serie spielen. Er spricht leise und mit überwältigender Offenheit. Sein strenger Vater, der samstags mit Vorliebe Vichyssoise und mediterrane Fischgerichte zubereitete, vermittelte ihm schon in jungen Jahren eine Wertschätzung für Nahrungsmittel und eine eiserne Arbeitsmoral.

„Mein Vater bläute mir ein, dass Arbeit unsere Lebenspflicht ist. Mir war aber nie klar, dass Arbeit auch Spaß machen kann. Ich empfand ihn als sehr einschüchternd. Er hat in Oxford studiert und war oberster Richter in Neufundland. Außer dem Essen hatten wir wenig gemeinsam, aber manchmal sind wir 200 Meilen nur für einen Teller Erbsensuppe gefahren“, so beschreibt er, wie er seinen Vater erlebt und was er ihm fürs Kochen mitgegeben hat. „Ich habe auf alles vertraut, was mir mein Vater beigebracht und gut gemacht hat. Seine Rezepte nutze ich bis heute.“

Obwohl er immer Spaß am Kochen hatte, dachte er nie daran, in den Beruf einzusteigen. Doch nachdem er erkannt hatte, dass „die Gastronomie die am schnellsten wachsende Branche in Nordamerika ist“, machte er eine Ausbildung in Hotelmanagement am Georgian College in Barrie, Ontario. Bald darauf bekam er eine Stelle in einem Four Seasons in Ontario. Dort lernte er Kollegen kennen, die ihn dafür gewinnen konnten, bei der Eröffnung eines Thermalbadresorts in der Präfektur Tochigi dreieinhalb Stunden nördlich von Tokio mitzuhelfen.

In den zwei Jahren in Japan lernte er grundlegende Dinge z. B. über Saisonalität, Budgeterstellung oder wie man den stressigen Vollzeit-Service für mehr als 800 Gäste pro Abend meistert. Durch diese Erfahrungen schulte er auch seine Geduld und seine Konzentrationsfähigkeit.

Image: Hé Photographes

„Anfangs war es wirklich hart. Kulturschock ist da noch untertrieben“, sagt er. „14 Stunden am Tag Melonen zu schälen war schon mühsam, aber ich möchte es nicht missen, weil ich eine Menge über Messer gelernt habe. Wir haben viele Pasteten, Terrinen und Fischterrinen zubereitet, da gab es viel fein zu schneiden. Eines Tages kam der Kacho (der Manager) rein und meinte, wir räumen jetzt alle Schneidegeräte weg, bis Jonathan lernt, von Hand fein zu schneiden.“

Von Japan zog er weiter nach Großbritannien und arbeitete unter Michael Kitts im Swallow Royal Hotel in Bristol. Er war dreieinhalb Jahre im Four Seasons Hotel London auf der Park Lane beim Starkoch Jean-Christophe Novelli tätig. Dort, so sagt er, konnte er sich intensiv mit hochwertigen Produkten beschäftigen. „Ich habe nie zuvor Foie Gras gesehen. Bei der Arbeit mit Jean-Christophe ging es vor allem um Aromen“, erklärt er.

Er fühlte sich dem Job nicht ganz gewachsen, blieb aber dabei. „Ich wollte mehr und war nie zufrieden mit dem, wo ich gerade stand. Ich habe nie nach links und rechts geschaut, sondern bin einfach losgesprungen. Vielleicht hat mir das einen Vorteil verschafft, denn ich war ständig von Leuten umgeben, die deutlich besser waren als ich, und ich musste mich durchbeißen“, meint Gushue.

Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Kanada arbeitete er zunächst als leitender Souschef in den Four Seasons Hotels in Vancouver und Toronto und nahm 2005 eine Stelle im Langdon Hall in Cambridge (Ontario) knapp 100 km von Toronto entfernt an. Im Langdon Hall, das derzeit auf Platz 4 der 100 besten Restaurants Kanadas rangiert, machte sich Gushue einen Namen als Küchenchef. Bald folgten mehrere Auszeichnungen u. a. als Canadian Chef of the Year 2010 und Ontario Chef of the Year 2011.

Unter Druck

2013 geriet er dann in die Schlagzeilen, nachdem er für 13 Tage auf Sauftour verschwunden war – ein trauriger Höhepunkt seines langjährigen Alkoholproblems.

Auf die Frage, ob ihn der Job im Restaurantbusiness, wo Drogenmissbrauch und Burn-out zum Alltag gehören, in diesen Absturz getrieben hätte, antwortet Gushue: „Ich habe Alkohol den Platz eingeräumt, den Beziehungen hätten ausfüllen sollen. Das Problem hatte nichts damit zu tun, dass ich, Jonathan, in der Gastronomie gearbeitet habe.“ Mit dem Stress durch die Führung eines renommierten Restaurants kam er letztlich klar, doch gesteht ein, dass der Druck durch die ungewohnte Popularität und die sozialen Ängste äußerst belastend waren.

„Als man sich plötzlich für meine Arbeit interessierte, musste ich alle möglichen Dinge tun und zu öffentlichen Terminen gehen, aber es war eine Qual. Ich bekam Angst dabei“, erklärt er.

Seit sechs Jahren ist Gushue nun weg vom Alkohol. Um das durchzustehen, war es für ihn enorm wichtig, Beziehungen und eine Gemeinschaft um sich herum aufzubauen. Beides hat er nun in der Arbeit im Fogo Island Inn gefunden. Dort ist er vor zwei Jahren eingestiegen, nachdem er das von ihm mitgegründete The Berlin in Kitchener (Ontario) verlassen hatte.

Fogo Island Inn / Image: Alex Fradkin

Das Hotel, gegründet von der auf Fogo Island geborenen Unternehmerin Zita Cobb, ist ein fesselndes Beispiel zeitgenössischer Architektur und wurde von dem ebenfalls gebürtigen Neufundländer Todd Saunders entworfen. Es ist Teil einer sozialen Initiative zur Wiederbelebung der Wirtschaft der Insel, die in den 1990er Jahren mit dem Niedergang der Kabeljaufischerei zusammenbrach. Im Rahmen des Projekts erhalten Einheimische Arbeit im Hotel und oder als Reiseführer für Touristen, die die Kultur und die Natur erkunden möchten.

Dank der kreativen Küche von Gushue mit ihren klaren Bezügen zu lokalen Zutaten und Traditionen hat sich das Hotel mittlerweile zu einem aufregenden kulinarischen Standort etabliert.

„Früher gab es nur die Arbeit, und sobald ich nicht gearbeitet habe, war der Alkohol da. Aber mittlerweile geht es um viel mehr. Die Welt ist so wunderbar, und ich möchte mir die Zeit nehmen, sie zu genießen“, findet Gushue. „Ich will einfach mein Bestes geben.“

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

More in Innovators

Your browser is out of date. It may not display all features of this websites. We recommend to use one of these browsers or versions Mozila Firefox or Google Chrome

Connect
To Top

Bring it on home

By: Reading Time: 4 Minutes

After a career that has taken him around the world, chef Jonathan Gushue has settled on a remote island close to his birthplace. He tells us about the journey.

As a boy in St. John’s, on the island of Newfoundland in Canada, Jonathan Gushue had wanderlust. Traveling to Europe with his father as a child inspired dreams of distant shores, and when he was 13, he left home to attend boarding school in Toronto and, later, New York State. Now one of Canada’s most acclaimed chefs, he got his start in the hospitality world washing dishes at a hotel during high school. Since then, his career has taken him far and wide – first, to northern Ontario, and then to Japan and the UK before he returned to North America in the early 2000s.

“I grew up being told that I should leave Newfoundland,” he recalls. “There weren’t very many opportunities.”

Jonathan Gushue / Image: Fogo Island Inn

After a series of life events reminiscent of scenes from a modern-day Odyssey, the 48-year-old chef has found a new home in his native province – one that is near his birthplace of St. John’s, yet feels a million miles away – as executive chef at the magnificent Fogo Island Inn, located on a remote island off the northeastern coast of Newfoundland. With a scant population of 2,300 people, the windswept Canadian outpost comprises 11 communities with quaintly poetic names such as Little Seldom, Tilting and Joe Batt’s Arm. Icebergs drift along the rocky shoreline, while caribou nestle together by the road.

Strict work ethic

Gushue has the wholesome good looks of an actor playing a doctor on television, with a shock of silver hair and glacial blue eyes behind black-framed spectacles, and he speaks in a soft voice with disarming frankness. His father, a stern man who devoted Saturdays to preparing Vichyssoise and Mediterranean fish stews, instilled in him an appreciation for food – as well as a strict work ethic – at a young age.

“My father was adamant that you had to work, but I never knew that you could enjoy work. I was very intimidated by him; he was a Rhodes scholar and chief justice in Newfoundland. Beyond food, we didn’t have much in common, but we’d drive 200 miles for a bowl of pea soup,” he says, describing the impact of lessons gleaned from his dad in the kitchen. “I relied on everything my father taught me and did OK. I still use his recipes today.”

Although he’d always enjoyed cooking, he hadn’t planned on becoming a chef. But after realizing, “the fastest growing industry in North America was hospitality,” he began studying hotel management at Georgian College in Barrie, Ontario. Soon, he landed a job at a Four Seasons resort in Ontario. While here, he befriended colleagues who recruited him to help open a hot springs resort in Tochigi Prefecture, three and a half hours north of Tokyo.

Two years in Japan taught him the importance of seasonality, as well as the basics of budgeting and how to deal with the challenges of providing round-the-clock service for more than 800 guests a night. The experience also honed his patience and ability to focus.

Image: Hé Photographes

“It was very difficult at first. Culture shock was an understatement,” he says. “Peeling melons for 14 hours a day was trying, but I wouldn’t take it back because I learned everything about knives. We did a lot of pates, terrines and fish terrines, so there was a lot of fine cutting. One day, the kacho (manager) came in and said, ‘We’re removing all the slicers until Jonathan can learn to slice by hand.’”

From Japan, he moved to the UK, working under Michael Kitts in Bristol at the Swallow Royal Hotel. He spent three and a half years at the Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane with celebrity chef Jean-Christophe Novelli, where he says he was able to concentrate on good products. “I had never seen foie gras before. Working with Jean-Christophe was all about flavor,” he says.

He felt unprepared for the job but stuck with it. “I wanted more and was never happy with where I was. I never looked before I leapt. That may have given me an advantage because I put myself in positions where I was surrounded by people much better than me, and I had to deal with it,” he says.

After returning to Canada to be an executive sous-chef at Four Seasons Hotels in Vancouver and Toronto, in 2005 he took a position at Langdon Hall in Cambridge, Ontario, an hour outside of the capital. Langdon Hall, which currently ranks No. 4 among Canada’s 100 best restaurants, is where Gushue made his name as the executive chef, and a string of accolades – Canadian Chef of the Year 2010, as well as Ontario Chef of the Year 2011 – followed.

Under pressure

However, in 2013 he made headlines for disappearing on a 13-day bender – a public culmination of his lifelong struggles with alcohol.

When asked if working in the restaurant world, where substance abuse and burnout are rife, led to the breakdown, Gushue replies: “I put alcohol where relationships should have been. The problem had nothing to do with meJonathan being in hospitality.” Although he may have coped with the stress of running a high-profile restaurant, he admits that the pressures of new-found celebrity and social anxiety were hard to bear.

“When all of a sudden people were interested in what I was doing, I had to do all these things and go to these events, but it was like hell on earth. I was terrified,” he explains.

Gushue has been sober for six years and says that the keys to overcoming alcoholism have been learning to foster relationships and a sense of community. Working at Fogo Island Inn, which he joined two years ago after leaving The Berlin, a restaurant he co-founded in Kitchener, Ontario, has given him both.

Fogo Island Inn / Image: Alex Fradkin

The brainchild of Fogo Island native and entrepreneur Zita Cobb, the hotel – a stunning example of contemporary architecture designed by Todd Saunders (also a Newfoundland native) – is part of a social initiative to revive the island’s economy, which collapsed along with the cod fishing industry in the 1990s. The project employs locals, who work at the hotel and guide visitors on excursions that explore the culture and landscape.

Gushue’s creative cooking, which draws upon local ingredients and food traditions, is now making the hotel an exciting culinary destination.

“Before, I worked so much and when I wasn’t working, I drank. But now there’s more to it. What a great world this is, I want to take the time to experience it,” he says. “I just want to do my best.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Innovators

  • Lots new in the North

    For many centuries, surviving a long Nordic winter in Finland was something you had to be prepared for – those who...

    Ilona MarxSeptember 7, 2020
  • British chef Ben Tish on his most personal project yet

    On the back of the successful opening of his most recent restaurant, Norma in central London, Ben Tish is keeping very...

    Tina Nielsen - FCSIAugust 24, 2020
  • From social media to a socially distanced new food experience

    How one UK restaurant business, started by YouTube star Mikey Pearce, has embraced the concept of dark kitchens as a way...

    Liz Cooley - FCSIAugust 7, 2020
  • Better Beds

    A good night's sleep should be the main hallmark of any hotel. KTCHNrebel spoke with sleep expert Jens Rosenbaum and hoteliers...

    Maria-Jacoba Geremus - FalstaffJuly 30, 2020
  • Eduard Xatruch: pushing the limits of the imaginable

    Just sit back and let the adventure come to you - an evening at Eduard Xatruch’s restaurant is like a trip...

    Isabell KniefJune 22, 2020
  • Chefs of the Decade

    The Giants: These ten exceptional chefs revolutionized the culinary decade with thier brilliant creations, innovative techniques, and groundbreaking concepts.

    Sarah Helmanseder - Rolling PinFebruary 26, 2020
  • Selim Varol: A gastro career-changer with a weakness for urban art

    Street art meets street food: Since 2013, What’s Beef has been conquering the hearts of urban burger lovers across Germany. Selim...

    Isabell KniefFebruary 24, 2020
  • Professional kitchens are getting smarter.

    Digitization, networking, artificial intelligence - everyone’s talking about them, and now they’re becoming a top priority in professional kitchens around the...

    Heike LucasFebruary 12, 2020
  • Over a mug of beer…

    For almost 20 years, Micheal Möller has been in charge of the legendary Hofbräuhaus in Munich. Over a mug of beer,...

    Bernhard Leitner - Rolling PinFebruary 3, 2020