Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Es kann sein, dass nicht alle Funktionen dieser Websites angezeigt werden. Wir empfehlen, einen dieser Browser oder Versionen zu verwenden Mozila Firefox oder Google Chrome

Connect
To Top

25hours Hotels: Anders, als die Anderen.

Von: Lesezeit: 4 Minuten
Nächster Artikel HYPER, HYPER!

Jung und dynamisch – so beschreibt sich 25hours Hotels auf der firmeneigenen Webseite. Das Unternehmen möchte zwar auf der traditionellen Hotellerie aufbauen, dabei aber neue Wege gehen. KTCHNrebel hat mit Robert Hesse, Culinary Manager bei 25hours, über das hauseigene F&B-Konzept, die geplante Expansion und natürlich Fachkräftemangel sowie Digitalisierung gesprochen.

25hours-hotel

Das F&B-Konzept der 25hours Hotels

 

KTCHNrebel: Herr Hesse, die Gastronomie scheint bei den 25hours Hotels sehr wichtig zu sein, obwohl heutzutage viele ihrer Wettbewerber den F&B-Bereich eher abstoßen. Welche Strategie steckt dahinter?

Robert Hesse: Das stimmt. Die Gastronomie ist bei uns extrem wichtig. Dahinter steckt das klare Ziel, unsere Hotels mit Lebendigkeit zu füllen. Dafür bringen wir attraktive und spannende Ideen in unsere Häuser. Es ist uns zudem wichtig, auch die Locals und Nachbarn zu erreichen. Die Gastronomie sollte auch für sie interessant und einfach zugänglich sein.

KTCHNrebel: Dabei verfolgen Sie doch sicherlich ein spezielles F&B-Konzept? Vor allem in den deutschen NENI-Restaurants…

25hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

Robert Hesse: Grundsätzlich gibt es bei uns nicht „das eine“ F&B-Konzept, sondern wir sind vielmehr immer auf der Suche nach neuen, spannenden und innovativen Konzepten. Das Konzept NENI hat sich hierbei zu einer wahren Erfolgsgeschichte für uns entwickelt. Wir konnten gemeinsam mit Haya Molcho und ihren Söhnen ein einzigartiges Gastronomie-Erlebnis schaffen, welches durch eine lockere und authentische Atmosphäre überzeugt. Durch unsere Stärke in Design und Story, können wir jedes Restaurant anders gestalten und erzeugen dennoch immer wieder eine kosmopolitische und belebende Atmosphäre.

KTCHNrebel: Wird sich dann die bisherige F&B-Strategie gerade hinsichtlich der künftigen Internationalisierung (neue Hotels in Dubai, Florenz und Kopenhagen) verändern?

Robert Hesse: Da wir bereits jetzt über eine große Bandbreite an Konzepten verfügen, schauen wir mit großer Freude auf die Expansion und die damit einhergehenden Möglichkeiten, entsprechend neue Ideen auszuprobieren. Wir sind stetig auf der Suche nach innovativen Konzepten, die zu den unterschiedlichen Standorten passen. Im Vordergrund steht dabei immer unser Anspruch an eine hohe Qualität sowie ein einzigartiges Gasterlebnis. Es bleibt also spannend und wir werden unsere Hotels definitiv mit neuen F&B-Erlebnissen füllen.

25hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

KTCHNrebel: Und egal wo auf der Welt möchte 25hours eine spezielle Zielgruppe ansprechen. Wie gehen Sie auf die speziellen Kundenwünsche ein?

Robert Hesse: Wir sprechen mit unserer Gastronomie generell ein junges und qualitätsbewusstes Publikum an. Dieses Publikum erwartet, dass man auf seinen Wunsch nach einem emotionalen Erlebnis, Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit eingeht. Diese Wünsche haben auch für uns einen grundlegenden Einfluss auf unseren Erfolg und somit nehmen wir uns diesen an. Dafür legen wir zu allererst einen großen Fokus auf das Training und die Weiterentwicklung unserer Mitarbeiter. Da wir im Dienstleistungsbereich agieren, ist der Umgang mit dem Gast ein wichtiger Faktor, um auf die Bedürfnisse der Kunden eingehen zu können. Dies bildet den Schlüssel zum Erfolg.

Attraktives Arbeitsumfeld und Digitalisierung: 2 Reaktionen auf den Fachkräftemangel

 

KTCHNrebel: Herr Hesse, Fachkräftemangel ist aber doch sicherlich auch bei 25hours ein Thema. Treffen Sie konkrete Maßnahmen um dem entgegen zu wirken?

25hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

Robert Hesse: Fachkräftemangel ist in der heutigen Zeit definitiv ein Thema, welches wir vor allem in den operativen Abteilungen bemerken. Mit einem attraktiven Arbeitsumfeld und besonderen Mitarbeiter-Benefits versuchen wir diesem gegen zu steuern.

KTCHNrebel: Beim Thema Fachkräftemangel wird ja auch sofort das Zauberwort Digitalisierung ins Spiel gebracht. Glauben Sie das Digitalisierung dabei helfen kann?

Robert Hesse: Ja, denn viele Arbeitsprozesse können durch die Digitalisierung vereinfacht und vollständig ersetzt werden. Dies trägt dazu bei, seine Zeit den spannenden und interessanten Aufgaben des Arbeitsalltags zu widmen. Trotz der positiven Aspekte der Digitalisierung ist es für uns von großer Bedeutung, sich Zeit für die Wertschätzung der Mitarbeiter zu nehmen. Gerade der persönliche Austausch untereinander unterstützt ein gutes Verhältnis beider Seiten und trägt zu einem angenehmen Arbeitsklima bei.

KTCHNrebel: Und wo kann Digitalisierung die Küche noch mehr unterstützen?

25hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

Robert Hesse: Digitalisierung kann seinen Einsatz darin finden, die Prozesse und Abläufe in den Betrieben zu verbessern. Zum Beispiel bei einer Bestellsoftware. So können automatisch Bestellungen ausgelöst werden. Auch die Dokumentation von Hygieneprozessen, die früher händisch festgehalten wurde, kann heute digital abgebildet werden. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die digitale Dienstplangestaltung. Mithilfe von speziellen Programmen lässt sich unter der Berücksichtigung bestimmter rechtlicher Vorgaben ein optimaler Dienstplan erstellen.

KTCHNrebel: Herr Hesse, abschließend ein Blick in die Glaskugel. Wie wird der F&B-Bereich bei 25hours Hotels in 10 Jahren aussehen?

Robert Hesse: Wenn man die heutige Zeit betrachtet, kann in 10 Jahren enorm viel passieren. Die Welt verändert sich stetig und somit auch die Ansprüche und Wünsche unserer Kunden. In 10 Jahren werden die 25hours Hotels in vielen weiteren Metropolen dieser Welt vertreten sein. Wir werden die Menschen mit unterschiedlichsten gastronomischen Innovationen überzeugen – sowie es uns in vielen Städten bereits jetzt erfolgreich gelingt.

Robert Hesse
Robert Hesse ist seit Sommer 2017 für die 25hours Hotel Company tätig. Parallel dazu absolviert er ein Studium der Betriebswirtschaft & Wirtschaftspsychologie. Vor der Tätigkeit bei 25hours hat er gemeinsam mit Thomas Martin die Küche des Hamburger 5-Sterne Hotel Louis C. Jacob geleitet. Neben einer klassischen Ausbildung zum Koch und entsprechender internationaler Erfahrung, weist Robert Hesse auch einen Hotelbetriebswirt-Abschluss in seinem Lebenslauf auf.

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

More in Management

Your browser is out of date. It may not display all features of this websites. We recommend to use one of these browsers or versions Mozila Firefox or Google Chrome

Connect
To Top

25Hours hotels: refreshingly different.

By: Reading Time: 4 Minutes
Next Article HYPER, HYPER!

Young and dynamic may not be the first words that come to mind with most hotels, but that’s how 25hours describe themselves on their company website—and fittingly, too. “Traditional” hospitality may be 25hours Hotel’s starting point, but they’re taking it in a whole new direction. KTCHNRebel sat down with Robert Hesse, 25hours’ Culinary Manager, to discuss their F&B concept, their plans for expansion, and of course timely issues like digitalization and qualified staff shortages.

sustainable hotel 25 hours hotel

Robert Hesse from 25hours Hotels

The 25hours hotels F&B concept

 

KTCHNrebel: Mr. Hesse, gastronomy seems like one of 25hours Hotels’ main areas of focus, even though nowadays many of your competitors are de-emphasizing the F&B side of things. What’s the strategy behind that?

Robert Hesse: You’re right. Gastronomy is extremely important to us. One of our key goals is to fill our hotels with life, and we do that by bringing appealing, exciting ideas to our locations. It’s also important to us to reach the locals, the neighbors. We want our restaurant concepts to be interesting and easily accessible to them as well.

KTCHNrebel: So you must use a special F&B concept for that, then? Particularly with NENI in Germany.

25 hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

Robert Hesse: We don’t generally have one single F&B concept – it’s more like we’re always looking for new, exciting, innovative ideas. The NENI concept has developed into a real success story for us. We worked with Haya Molcho and her sons to create a one-of-a-kind restaurant experience that wins people over through its relaxed, authentic atmosphere. Design and story are strengths of ours, and we use them to make each restaurant different, while still managing to give them all a lively, cosmopolitan feel.

KTCHNrebel: Will your F&B strategy change in the future, given your plans for internationalization (new hotels in Dubai, Florence and Copenhagen)?

Robert Hesse: Since we already have a wide range of concepts, we’re really looking forward to expanding, and to the opportunities it will give us to try out new ideas. We’re always on the lookout for innovative concepts that will fit different locations. Our top priorities every time are maintaining our high standards of quality and creating an unforgettable experience for our customers. So there’s never a dull moment, and we definitely plan on filling our hotels with new F&B ideas.

hotel restaurant food concept

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

KTCHNrebel: And regardless of where 25hours is in the world, your goal is always to appeal to a specific target group. How do you accommodate special customer requests?

Robert Hesse: In general, our restaurants are aimed at a young, quality-conscious audience. That audience expects us to cater to their desires for transparency, sustainability, and an emotional experience. Those desires have a fundamental influence on our success, so we strive to accommodate them. We do that first and foremost by placing a lot of emphasis on our employees’ training and professional development. Since we’re part of the service industry, interactions with our guests are a big factor in how well we’re able to meet our customers’ needs. That’s the key to our success.

Digitalization and attractive working environments: two reactions to the shortage of qualified staff

 

KTCHNrebel: Mr. Hesse, I’m sure that qualified staff shortages are an issue for 25hours as well. Are you doing anything concrete to counteract that situation?

25hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

Robert Hesse: In this day and age, the lack of qualified professional staff is definitely something we’re noticing, especially in our operative departments. We’re trying to counter it by creating an attractive working environment and offering special employee benefits.

KTCHNrebel: Whenever staff shortages come up, the next magic word that always comes up is “digitalization”. Do you think that digitalization can help there?

Robert Hesse: Yes, because digitalization can simplify or even fully replace a lot of work processes. That allows staff members to focus on the more interesting, exciting aspects of their day-to-day work. Even with the positive effects of digitalization, we also think it’s extremely important to take time to appreciate our employees. Personal interaction, in particular, reinforces relationships and helps create a good work environment for both sides.

KTCHNrebel: What aspects of kitchen life would you say digitalization could potentially improve even more?

25hours-hotel

Image: 25hours Hotel / Stephan Lemke

Robert Hesse: Digitalization can be used to improve operational processes in general. Ordering software, for example – it could trigger orders automatically. And nowadays, we can digitally record hygiene processes, which is something we used to have to do by hand. Digital work schedules are another example: we have special programs now that we can use to create optimum schedules, while accounting for certain legal constraints.

KTCHNrebel: To finish up, Mr. Hesse, let’s take a look into the crystal ball. What do you think F&B will be like at 25hours Hotels in ten years?

Robert Hesse: Looking at how things are today, an unbelievable amount can happen in ten years. The world is always changing, and so are our customers’ expectations and desires. In ten years, 25hours Hotels will be represented in many more metropolises around the world. We’ll be impressing people with a wide range of gastronomic innovation, just as we’re doing now in many cities.

About Robert Hesse
Robert Hesse has been working for 25hours Hotels since the summer of 2017, and is also finishing up a degree in Business and Business Psychology. Before starting at 25hours, he ran the kitchen at Louis C. Jacob, a five-star hotel in Hamburg, together with Thomas Martin. Besides being a classically trained chef with international experience, Hesse also has a degree in hotel management.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Management

  • Snackification: Goodbye three squares, hello mini-meals

    Our everyday lives are getting progressively more flexible and individual, at the expense of structure. Set mealtimes, which were central to...

    Christoph KristandlNovember 11, 2019
  • A whole new can of worms

    Worm pastries? Worm omelets? Why slimy invertebrates may have future culinary potential - and how spinach-green innards became a million-dollar industry.

    Lucas Palm-Rolling PinNovember 4, 2019
  • Work less pay hard!

    Work hard, play hard is on its way out. What Generation Z expects from the working world - and how...

    Lucas Palm - Rolling PinOctober 31, 2019
  • Food delivery and the lazy economy

    Outlining the current picture of the food delivery market in Asia where several players are jostling for position.

    Maida Pineda-FCSIOctober 28, 2019
  • No crap

    From Zero to Hero: More and more restaurateurs have had enough of food waste and excess packaging. Nolla in Helsinki and...

    Laura Jung - Rolling PinOctober 21, 2019
  • Growth track

    Karlheinz Hauser has stood for high-end Catering. But he’s doing almost everything differently with his most recent coup: his fast-food concept...

    Alexandra Polic - Rolling PinOctober 16, 2019
  • Better than BEEF?

    Meat 2.0: plant-based meat alternatives like beyond meat are all the rage these days. How this trend came about, what meatless...

    Sarah Helmanseder-Rolling PinOctober 8, 2019
  • Generation ABC – Play food from the future

    So everyone knows you shouldn't play with your food, right? Wrong! You can actually learn a lot by doing exactly this....

    Maya WilsonSeptember 26, 2019
  • Jetset chefs

    Claus Meyer, Wolfgang Puck, Jamie Oliver... how superstars and industry luminaries are bringing their casual concepts to train stations and airports...

    Georges Desrues - Rolling PinSeptember 23, 2019