Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Es kann sein, dass nicht alle Funktionen dieser Websites angezeigt werden. Wir empfehlen, einen dieser Browser oder Versionen zu verwenden Mozila Firefox oder Google Chrome

Connect
To Top

Kampf um die Sterne – Die Macht von Michelin, Varta und Gault-Millau

Von: Lesezeit: 6 Minuten
Vorheriger Artikel Fisch in Seenot

Jedes Jahr sorgt er für Tränen, für Wutanfälle und für Freudenschreie: der Michelin-Stern, der die Stars und Sternchen der Gourmetküche im Restaurant-Ratgeber „Guide Michelin“ in den Himmel der Spitzengastronomie emporhebt. Manche Köche vergleichen die Gier nach den Sternen mit einer Sucht, nicht wenige zerbrechen am Konkurrenzkampf.

Die Spitzengastronomie ist hart umkämpft, die Karriere steht und fällt mit dem Prestige. So schnell wie ein neuer Michelin-Stern am Himmel aufgeht, so schnell kann er auch verglühen. Die weltweit besten Köche arbeiten Tag und Nacht unter Hochdruck auf die Auszeichnung hin – manchmal ein ganzes Leben lang. Wer dagegen einen Michelin-Stern hat, schielt bereits auf den nächsten. Einmal am Sternenhimmel der Elite vertreten, will man nicht mehr absteigen. Eine Überstunde jagt die nächste, Privatleben ade.

Immer mehr Spitzenköche drehen dem Sterne-Karussell den Rücken zu, steigen aus und widersetzen sich den Regeln und Gesetzen des Sterne-Universums. Trotzdem gilt der Michelin-Guide bis heute als Bibel der Feinschmecker. Nach welchen Regeln werden die Sterne vergeben? Wer entscheidet darüber? Und ist das alles berechtigt?

Sternstunde der Gastro: Warum ein Reifenhersteller über Koch-Karrieren entscheiden darf

Das pummelige Michelin-Männchen, wer kennt es nicht? Der französische Reifenhersteller mit diesem lustigen – oder, seien wir mal ehrlich – gruseligen Maskottchen stößt im Jahre 1900 auf eine gewinnbringende Marktlücke. Die raffinierte Idee der Touristikabteilung von Michelin: ein praktischer Werkstatt-Wegweiser, Autopflege-Tipps und Landkarte inklusive. Besser lässt sich die eigene Expertise bei der Zielgruppe nicht vermarkten. Zunächst for free, später dann gegen bare Münze. Denn der „Guide Michelin“ ist nahezu konkurrenzlos. Klar, dass das praktische Handbuch nicht nur bei den Franzosen gut ankommt, sondern sich zu einem echten Exportschlager in Europa entwickelt.

Michelin Stern Restaurant Verleihung

Michelin Mascot at the Michelin Star Revelation Hong Kong Macau 2020

In den 1920er Jahren nimmt der Reiseführer erstmals auch Hotel- und Restaurants in seine Empfehlungen mit auf. Wer allerdings denkt, der Michelin Guide beschäftige sich nur mit der teuren Gourmetküche, der irrt: Das Handbuch enthält – damals wie heute – Empfehlungen für jede Preisklasse. Die besonders herausragenden Adressen werden seit 1926 mit einem Symbol gekennzeichnet: ein blumenförmiger Stern, den die Franzosen liebevoll „macaron“ nennen. 1936 kommt es zu den drei Kategorien, mit denen Michelin bis heute „Sterneköche“ und „Sterne Restaurants“ in aller Welt auszeichnet:

● Ein Stern: diese Restaurants sind definitiv „einen Stopp wert“*
● Zwei Sterne: diese Lokale sind Autofahrern „einen Umweg wert“*
● Drei Sterne: die Raffinesse dieser Küche ist sogar „eine Reise wert“*

*in seiner jeweiligen Kategorie

Anonyme Inspektoren auf der Suche nach dem kulinarischen Kick: wie der Guide Michelin ermittelt

Weiße Alba Trüffel, Kaviar und Rindertatar, soufflierte Wachtelbrust, Champagner Cremesorbet: Wenn Sie bereit sind, regelmäßige Sieben-Gänge-Menüs zu ertragen und sich gerne in angesagten Gourmetrestaurants herumtreiben, sollten Sie über eine berufliche Zukunft als Michelin-Kritiker nachdenken. Voraussetzung: Sie haben eine Kochausbildung in einem gehobenen Betrieb absolviert, hervorragende Geschmacksknospen und wissen worum es sich bei Sot-l‘y-laisse, Vin Jaune oder Nouvelle Cuisine handelt.

Nun, ganz so einfach dürfte die Ernennung zu einem Michelin-Kritiker nicht werden, selbst wenn Sie diese Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Schaffen Sie es allerdings, steht Ihnen trotz der Gaumenfreuden so manch anstrengender 14-Stunden-Tag bevor, an dem Sie von einem Arbeitseinsatz zum nächsten etliche Kilometer zurücklegen. Nun ja, Michelin hängt eben mit Autos zusammen.

Aber Spaß beiseite: Nach einer monatelangen Einarbeitung entscheiden Sie gemeinsam mit Ihren Kollegen über Existenzen. Sie ermitteln anonym und undercover in Hotels und Restaurants. Schreiben spät abends ihre Berichte – ein Notizblock würde Sie spätestens zum Hauptgang entlarven. Der Michelin-Guide nimmt zwar Bewerbungen entgegen, aber die Redaktion allein entscheidet, welche Lokale geprüft werden. Deshalb halten Sie im Branchengeflüster stets Augen und Ohren offen, lauernd auf Geheimtipps, um deren Spur zu verfolgen und neue Küchen aufzuspüren, die sterneverdächtig sind.

Michelin kürt nämlich längst nicht mehr nur die Altmeister französischer „Haute Cuisine“, die Suche nach Sterneköchen ist schon lange nicht mehr auf Europa begrenzt. Seit Jahren soll sie diverser werden, die Welt der Sterne. Im Jahr 2017 erhält beispielsweise Jay Fai einen Michelin-Stern – die Köchin einer heruntergekommenen Straßenküche in Thailands verruchter Millionenstadt Bangkok. Der „Guide Michelin“ will modern sein, offen, innovativ – gelingt ihm das auch?

Fernab von Hypes: wie Gastronomen erfolgreich nach den Michelin-Sternen greifen

Die Spitzengastronomie bricht mit Traditionen. Wo früher noch silbernes Tafelbesteck, weiße Tischdecken und elegante Abendgarderobe zum Standard eines jeden Gourmet-Tempels zählten, überzeugt heute Andersartigkeit.

Zwar gibt es immer noch das klassische Format des piekfeinen Sternerestaurants inklusive Ober, der den Damen aus dem Pelzmantel hilft, doch besonders in Großstädten machen sich neue Formate breit: Hier wird der Gast geduzt, der Abend zum lustigen Gruppen-Event und der Hummer auf Schiefer statt auf Porzellan serviert. Der „Guide Michelin“ würdigt zunehmend auch solche Adressen als Sternerestaurant. Denn ob Straßenküche, Bistro oder Edelrestaurant: Der Michelin-Stern bewertet ausschließlich die Küche. Wer besonders auf Ambiente und Komfort achtet, orientiert sich neben den Sternen am Essbesteck-Symbol, das der Michelin Guide pro Restaurant bis zu fünfmal vergibt.

Fernab von Hypes um Molekularküchen, Minimalismus oder Internationalisierung bleiben die Regeln bei der Vergabe der Michelin-Sterne gleich. Was ein hervorragendes Essen von einem durchschnittlich guten Essen unterscheidet, ändert sich nicht – egal ob exotisch oder regional. Die Michelin-Kritiker prüfen jedes Drei-Gänge-Menü auf folgende Kriterien:

● Die Zutaten sind von hoher Qualität und Frische, fachgerecht und auf den Punkt zubereitet.
● Die Gerichte schmecken herausragend und besitzen eine kreative, persönliche Note.
● Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmt und die Gerichte sind dauerhaft und über die gesamte Karte hinweg auf einem konstant hohen Niveau.

Und so fahren die 85 Michelin-Inspektoren rund um die Welt, probieren fleißig Gänseleber und bretonische Hummer, um im Anschluss Berichte zu verfassen, die die Zukunft von Köchen und Restaurants für immer verändern können. Bevor ein Michelin-Stern abgezogen oder vergeben wird, überprüfen mehrere Inspektoren ein Restaurant. Doch die Tester bleiben zunächst anonym, niemand kann sie von einem normalen Gast unterscheiden. Oft outen sie sich am Ende des Besuchs – dann ist es allerdings zu spät für eine Sonderbehandlung. An jedem Tag, zu jeder Zeit können sie anwesend sein. Klar, dass bei einem solchen Verfahren der Druck auf Köche und Mitarbeiter steigt.

Michelin Star Verleihung 2020 2021 Liste

Michelin Star Revelation Hong Kong Macau 2020

Die Einsamkeit am Sternenhimmel: Fluch und Segen des Michelin-Sterns

Der Ton ist rau, die Ansagen klar – das gilt wohl für die Kommunikation in den meisten Küchen. Doch wenn kleine Fehler eine Kündigung nach sich ziehen können, ist das im Team deutlich spürbar. Alle müssen Hochleistung erbringen, voll da sein. Jeder Handgriff muss sitzen, jedes Detail perfekt sein – okay, zugegeben, nicht jeder Gastronom ist bei seinem Traum von einem Platz am Sternenhimmel so verbissen. Aber viele Mitarbeiter berichten dennoch vom Druck in der Spitzengastronomie, den der Kampf um Sterne, Münzen und Punkte verursacht.

Die Inspektoren des Michelin Guides sind schließlich nicht die einzigen, die über die Qualität von Restaurants richten. Der Markt der Restaurantführer ist heiß begehrt. Allerdings testen nicht alle selbst und wer die Berichte vergleicht, merkt leider schnell, dass in der Branche häufig voneinander abgeschrieben wird. Dennoch erscheinen jedes Jahr im Spätherbst zahlreiche Neuauflagen. Der Varta-Führer vergibt bis zu fünf Diamanten, der Gault-Millau krönt die besten Köche mit 20 Punkten und vier Kochmützen, der Schlemmer Atlas wertet mit Kochlöffeln – unzählige weitere Restaurantführer vergeben Noten und Bewertungen.

Der deutsche Restaurantführer Gusto geht einen besonders umstrittenen Weg: Alle, die darin mit Foto und ausführlicher Beschreibung erscheinen, haben dafür bezahlt. Allerdings bewertet der Gusto auch andere Restaurants – dann jedoch ohne Foto und langen Bericht – und versichert, die Bezahlung habe keinerlei Einfluss auf die Bewertung. Und tatsächlich steht er inzwischen auf Platz zwei der beliebtesten und einflussreichsten Restaurantführer – direkt nach dem Guide Michelin. Doch ob darum gebeten, dafür bezahlt oder ohne jede Einladung zur Inspektion: Dass die Verlierer, die in diesen Bewertungstiraden schlecht abschneiden, unglücklich sind, dürfte auf der Hand liegen.

Doch warum zur Hölle beschweren sich Köche, die mit Bestnoten ausgezeichnet werden? Ganz einfach: Sie haben keine Lust, in eine Schublade mit abgehobenen, teuren Gourmetschuppen gesteckt zu werden, wollen keine Feinschmecker-Touristen anziehen oder sich schlicht und einfach nicht dem Erfolgsdruck des Verfahrens aussetzen. Immer mehr Köche ziehen kreative Freiheit und Unabhängigkeit vor, wollen ihr eigenes Ding machen und pfeifen auf ihre Michelin-Sterne – die dürfen sie nämlich nicht mitnehmen, wenn sie das Restaurant verlassen, in dem sie die Sterne erkocht haben. Das Restaurant verliert den Stern übrigens ebenfalls.

Keine Lust auf Burnout: Der Sterneboykott der Spitzenköche

Sie zaubern die ausgefallensten Gerichte auf den Teller und entführen ihre Gäste in eine kulinarische Welt, für die diese bereitwillig eine mehrstellige Summe Eintritt zahlen: und zwar ohne einen einzigen Michelin-Stern. Immer mehr Spitzenköche gehen neue Wege, machen sich frei von dem Kampf um die Auszeichnungen – und bleiben dennoch erfolgreich. So wie Maria Groß, deren Stern im Jahr 2013 am Michelin-Himmel erscheint. Im Alter von 33 Jahren feiert Deutschland sie als seine jüngste Sterneköchin. Doch die junge Frau schießt die Karriere als Sterneköchin in den Wind und gründet 2015 ihr eigenes Lokal, in dem nicht die Regeln von Michelin, Gault-Millau und Co. gelten, sondern ihre eigenen. Sie ist Teil einer neuen Generation von Spitzenköchen, die keine Lust mehr haben, die bisherigen Spielregeln zu befolgen.

Es gibt dutzende weitere Beispiele. Wir alle erinnern uns an den Skandal im Jahr 2017, als der französische Starkoch Sébastien Bras in den Medien verkündet, seine drei Sterne abzugeben, die er für seine Kochkunst im Gourmetrestaurant „Le Suquet“ in der Auvergne erhalten hat. Ein Jahr später listet der „Guide Michelin“ ihn dennoch, dieses Mal mit zwei Sternen. Denn welches Lokal im Restaurantführer erscheint und wer nicht, obliegt der Pressefreiheit. Trotzdem verzichten Michelin, Varta und Gault-Millau teilweise aus Kulanz auf eine Namensnennung – und immer mehr Köche und Gastronomen äußern öffentlich ihren Wunsch, man möge ihre Adresse nicht als Sternerestaurant auflisten.

Die Zufriedenheit der Gäste: die beste Auszeichnung für einen Koch?

Sind wir mal ehrlich: Finden wir es gut, wie viel Macht die großen Restaurantführer über uns inzwischen besitzen? Ist es gerechtfertigt, wenn ihre Urteile ganze Karrieren beenden? Im Branchengetuschel gibt es Gerüchte von Absprachen, viel zu häufig sind die Entscheidungen bei der Vergabe nicht nachvollziehbar, eine neue Generation von Spitzenköchen verweigert sich der althergebrachten Hierarchie. Sind „normale“ Gäste nicht vielleicht doch die beste Jury für einen Koch?

Jein. Denn inzwischen bekommt durch Social Media jede noch so undifferenzierte Meinung ein Gewicht. Ein ausgebildeter Branchenexperte mit Fachkenntnissen erkennt einen Sternekoch vielleicht nicht immer – aber dennoch zuverlässiger als Herr Müller aus Kleinenbremen, der mit Hilfe einer bissigen Restaurantkritik die enttäuschende Verabredung mit seiner Ex-Frau auf Facebook verarbeitet, statt sich auf die Michelin-Kriterien zu besinnen. Objektivität und Expertise sind Werte, die Gastronomen entgegenkommen. Nicht jeder versteht etwas von Gourmetküche – das ist auch in Ordnung.

Das Problem ist also nicht die fachliche Bewertung, sondern die übermächtige Bedeutung einzelner Auszeichnungen und der daraus resultierende Druck. Aber keine Sorge, selbst wenn die Macht von Michelin, Varta, Gault-Millau und Co. sinkt: Das Streben nach Exzellenz, die Leidenschaft fürs Kochen und die Suche nach einmaligen kulinarischen Erlebnissen wird nicht aufhören. Oder um es mit den vier Worten von Thomas Keller, erfolgreicher Sternekoch und Besitzer eines Restaurant-Imperiums, zu sagen: „Food should be fun!“.

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

More in Management

Your browser is out of date. It may not display all features of this websites. We recommend to use one of these browsers or versions Mozila Firefox or Google Chrome

Connect
To Top

War of the Stars – The power of Michelin, Varta and Gault-Millau

By: Reading Time: 7 Minutes
Previous Article Mayday fish in distress

Each year it brings tears, tantrums and cries of joy: the Michelin star, which lifts the stars and starlets of the gourmet kitchen into the heavens of top gastronomy in the restaurant guide known as the Michelin Guide. Some cooks liken the greed for the stars to an addiction; quite a few crack under the pressure of the competition.

Top gastronomy is highly competitive, and careers depend on prestige. As fast as a Michelin star appears on the heavens, it can also just as quickly burn out. The world’s best chefs work day and night under high pressure to win the award – sometimes for their entire lives. If you already have a Michelin star, you immediately start lusting after the next one. Once you’ve reached the star-studded heavens of the elite, you never want to leave. Hello hours and hours of overtime, goodbye private life.

Because of this, more and more top chefs are getting off the star carousel and are defying the rules and laws of the star universe. Nevertheless, the Michelin Guide still remains the gourmet bible. What are the criteria for awarding the stars? Who gets to decide? And is the whole thing fair?

Star hour in gastronomy: why a tire manufacturer has the say in culinary careers

 

Michelin Stars Restaurant

Michelin Man at the Michelin Star Revelation Hong Kong Macau 2020

Who doesn’t recognize the portly Michelin man? The French tire manufacturer with this funny – ok, let’s be honest, creepy – mascot discovered a profitable gap in the market in 1900. Michelin’s tourism department had a brilliant idea: a practical list of mechanics, car care tips and a map were all included in the guide. There was no better way to market their expertise to the target group. At first the guides were free, and later the customer had to pay for them. But that didn’t matter because the Michelin Guide basically has no competition. It goes without saying that this practical guide was not only popular with the French, it became a big hit in Europe as well.

The travel guide started offering recommendations about hotels and restaurant in the 1920s. However, if you think the Michelin Guide only covers expensive gourmet cuisine, you are mistaken: The guide includes – back then as well as today – recommendations for every price class. The particularly exceptional locations have been marked with a symbol since 1926: a flower-shaped star which the French affectionately call “macaron”. In 1936, Michelin introduced the three categories for star chefs and star restaurants it still uses today throughout the world:

  • One star: this restaurant represents “a very good restaurant” worth a stop*
  • Two stars: this restaurant boast “excellent cooking” that is “worth a detour”*
  • Three star: this restaurant offers “exceptional cuisine” that is “worth a special trip”*

*in its own particular category

Anonymous inspectors in search of a culinary kick: how the Michelin Guide makes its decisions

White Alba truffle, caviar and beef tatar, souffled quail breast, champagne cream sorbet: If you are willing to endure regular seven-course menus and enjoy hanging out in trendy gourmet restaurants, you should think about a professional future as a Michelin critic. Prerequisite: You have received a culinary education in an upscale establishment, have excellent taste buds and know the ins and outs of Sot-l’y-laisse, Vin Jaune or Nouvelle Cuisine.

However, it’s still no simple feat to be hired as a Michelin critic, even if you meet all the requirements. Even if you do make it, you will be faced with a lot of strenuous 14-hour days, despite the culinary delights, on which you will cover many miles from one work assignment to the next. Of course, Michelin is always connected to cars.

But with the funaside: After months of training, you and your colleagues will decide on the livelihoods of others. You assess anonymously and undercover in hotels and restaurants. You’ll have to write your report late at night – a note pad would expose you by the main course. The Michelin Guide accepts applications, but the editorial staff alone decides which locations are reviewed. That’s why you always have to keep your eyes and ears open and listen to the whispering within the industry, lurking around to catch insider tips and track down new restaurants or cuisines that are considered to be potential stars.

Michelin has long since stopped awarding prizes only to the old masters of French “haute cuisine”; the search for star chefs has long ceased to be limited to Europe alone. In recent years, this world of stars has sought to become more diverse. For example, Jay Fai, the cook at a run-down street food stall in Bangkok, Thailand’s bustling megacity, was awarded a Michelin star in 2017. The Michelin Guide wants to be modern, open and innovative – will it be able to achieve this?

Far from the hype: how restaurateurs successfully seize Michelin stars 

The top restaurateurs break with tradition. Whereas silver flatware, white tablecloths and elegant evening dresses used to be the standard of every gourmet temple in the past, today there is a striking difference.

Although you can still find the classic fine star restaurant complete with an attendant who helps ladies out of their fur coats, new forms are on the rise, especially in big cities: At these place the guests learn something, the evening becomes a funny group event and lobster is served on a slate instead of porcelain. The Michelin Guide is increasingly honoring such locations with the distinction of being a star restaurant. After all, whether street food, a bistro or a fine restaurant: the Michelin star only rates the cuisine. For those who particularly care about ambience and comfort, the Michelin Guide awards the stars and silverware symbol up to five times per restaurant.

Far removed from the hype surrounding molecular cuisines, minimalism or internationalization, the rules remain the same when awarding Michelin stars. What distinguishes an excellent meal from an average good meal does not change – whether exotic or regional. The Michelin critic evaluates each 3-course menu according to the following criteria:

  • The ingredients are high quality and fresh, and are professionally prepared to perfection.
  • The dishes taste superb and have a creative, personal touch.
  • The price-performance ratio is good and all the meals on the menu are consistently excellent across the board.

And so the 85 Michelin inspectors travel around the world, busily sampling goose liver and Breton lobster, and afterward penning reviews that can change the future of chefs and restaurants forever. Before a Michelin star is awarded or taken away, several inspectors test the restaurant. However, the testers stay initially anonymous; no one can tell them apart from a normal guest. They often out themselves at the end of the visit – by then it is of course too late to offer them any kind of special treatment. One of them could show up any day at any time. It goes without saying that the pressure on chefs and staff intensifies as a result of such a process.

Michelin Star Revelation 2020 2021

Michelin Star Revelation Hong Kong Macau 2020

Loneliness in the starry sky: the blessing and curse of a Michelin star

The tone is rough, the statements straightforward – this probably holds true for the communication in most kitchens. But if small mistakes can lead to termination, this is clearly noticeable in the team. Everyone has to be at the top of their game, and completely present. Every handle has to fit, every detail has to be perfect – ok, it’s not like every restaurateur is as determined about their dream of attaining a place in the starry sky. But many staff members nevertheless recount the pressure in top gastronomy caused by the battle for stars, coins and points.

After all, the inspectors for the Michelin Guides are not the only ones who judge the quality of restaurants. The restaurant guide market is highly sought after. However, not everyone tests the reviews themselves, and anyone who compares them soon notices that the industry often copies what the others have already said. Nevertheless, numerous new editions appear every year in the late fall. The Varta guide gives up to five diamonds, the Gault-Millau awards the best chefs with 20 points and four chef’s hats, the Schlemmer Atlas uses cooking spoons – and countless other restaurant guides give grades and ratings.

The German restaurant guide Gusto follows a particularly controversial path: Everyone who appears in it with a photo and a detailed description has paid for this. However, Gusto also rates other restaurants – but without a photo and a long review – and claims the payment has no influence on the rating. In fact, it is now the second most popular and influential restaurant guide – right after the Guide Michelin. But whether asked, paid for or uninvited for inspection: The fact that those who perform badly in these rating tiers are unhappy is obvious.

But why on earth do chefs who are awarded top grades complain? That’s easy: They don’t want to be pigeonholed with upscale, expensive gourmet joints, they don’t want to attract gourmet tourists or simply don’t want to expose themselves to the pressure of success inherent in the process. More and more chefs prefer creative freedom and independence; they want to do their own thing and don’t give two hoots about getting their own Michelin star – after all, they can’t take it with them when they leave the restaurant where they cooked up the star. In this case, the restaurant also loses its star.

Burnout, no thanks: the star boycott of top chefs

They conjure up the most unusual dishes on the plate and take their guests into a culinary world for which they willingly pay a multi-figure sum of admission: and all this without a single Michelin star. More and more top chefs are breaking new ground, freeing themselves from the battle for awards – and still remaining successful. Like Maria Groß, whose star appeared in the Michelin heavens in 2013. At the time 33, Germany celebrated her as its youngest star chef. But the young woman threw her career as a star chef out the window and instead founded her own restaurant in 2015, where the rules of Michelin, Gault-Millau and Co. don’t apply, but rather her own. She is part of a new generation of top chefs who no longer want to follow the rules of the game.

There are dozens of other examples. We all remember the scandal in 2017 when French star chef Sébastien Bras announced to the media that he would hand in his three stars for his culinary skills at the gourmet restaurant Le Suquet in Auvergne. One year later the Michelin Guide lists him nevertheless, this time with two stars. Because which restaurant appears in the restaurant guide and which one does not is left to the freedom of the press. Nevertheless, Michelin, Varta and Gault-Millau are sometimes not mentioned by name as a sign of goodwill – and more and more chefs and restaurateurs are publicly expressing their wish not to list their establishment as a star restaurant.

The satisfaction of the guests: the best award for a chef?

Let’s be honest here: Are we happy with how much power the big restaurant guides now have over us? Is it fair that their verdicts can end entire careers? There are rumors and talk of agreements made in the industry. Far too often the decisions on awarding contracts are hard to understand; a new generation of top chefs refuses to follow the traditional hierarchy. Are “average” guest perhaps the best jury for a chef?

Yes and no. Thanks to social media, every indiscriminate opinion has taken on weight. A trained industry professional with expert knowledge may not always recognize a star chef – but they still do so more reliably than Joe Schmo from Any Town, USA, who posts a bitterly negative review of a restaurant on Facebook which more describes a disappointing encounter with his ex-wife rather than reflecting on Michelin criteria. Objectivity and expertise are qualities that restauranteurs value. Not everyone knows much about gourmet cuisine – and that’s ok.

The problem is therefore not the professional evaluation itself, but rather the overwhelming importance of individual awards and the resulting pressure. But don’t worry, even if the power of Michelin, Varta, Gault-Millau and Co. diminishes: The pursuit of excellence, the passion for cooking and the search for unique culinary experiences will not stop. To use the four simple words as said by Thomas Keller, successful star chef and owner of a restaurantimperiums: “Food should be fun!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Management

  • Certainty in change: predicting the next decade

    ‘Sure things’ might be easier to predict when the going is good, but how impacted are long-term restaurant trends when a...

    Michael Jones - FCSIDecember 3, 2020
  • Ghostly growth: the rise of dark kitchens

    The growth of dark or ghost kitchens has accelerated in this challenging year as the delivery-only concept has provided foodservice operators...

    Tina Nielsen - FCSINovember 26, 2020
  • Ready for all three phases of the pandemic

    Corona comes in waves, and the measures imposed constantly keep us on our toes. At times everything is under control and...

    Barbara E. EulerNovember 20, 2020
  • Outside is the new in

    One thing we all have to used to is that Corona is a permanent guest and the measures surrounding it are...

    Barbara E. EulerNovember 13, 2020
  • The evolving food-to-go opportunity

    With the second wave of Covid-19 already encroaching we look at what lockdown lessons can be carried forward to help businesses...

    Jacquetta Picton - FCSINovember 4, 2020
  • Five tips for a personal brand

    KTCHNrebel gives tips on how to create a personal brand in five steps.

    Alexandra Gorsche - Falstaff ProfiOctober 21, 2020
  • Saving the world spoon by spoon

    Eating well and saving the climate – an impossible task? Not at all! Those who embark on a well-informed journey into...

    Barbara E. EulerOctober 13, 2020
  • Do it for the gram!

    Sure, the price is right and the sites nearby – sounds good. But neither of these are the top priorities for...

    Alexandra Gorsche - Falstaff PROFISeptember 28, 2020
  • Inside out: Biophilic design

    This type of design has long influenced architects and interior designers. Now, more and more hotels have started using their own...

    Nicola Afchar-Negad - FalstaffSeptember 24, 2020